Faculity of Medical Science

The establishment of faculty of medical science (together with health sciences and public health faculties) can be traced back to 1983G.C, with the birth of the then Jimma Institute of Health Sciences (JIHS). Subsequently, school of medicine was established in 1985 G.C.
Currently the faculty performs both clinical services and academic services under different departments (departments of biomedical sciences, school of medicine,dentistry,ophthalmology,pathology,emergency and critical care medicine,anesthesia,radiology, physiotherapy,health officer ,pediatrics and child health,internal medicine,surgery, gynecology and obstetrics ).
The faculty runs five undergraduate training, five graduate programmes (and one online graduate programme) ,thirteen speciality training ,five subspeciality training ( together with our alumni) and one PHD programme.
In order to enhance the quality education we deliver, we have three skill laboratories,three libraries ( two health science libraries, one post graduate ) and we use Jimma university medical center for undergraduate , for graduate,and for speciality trainings.
As one of the nation’s oldest medical school, we aspire to be one of best medical school in Africa and renewed in the world.
Kindly we would like to invite you to explore our website to learn more about the Faculty of medical science, our highly-experienced clinicians and other faculty members, our research activities, our clinical activities and our competitive degree programs. Please feel free to contact us personally if you have further questions or if you would like to visit the office.