About the Department

About the Department

Brief Overview   

The Department of Horticulture and Plant Science is one of the pioneersdepartments in the College of Agriculture and Veterinary Medicine. It was formed in 2009, through the amalgamation of the former ”Horticulture” and “Crop sciences” departments.  The department is well known in training Bachelor of Science  in horticulture in the country and also hosting international students at graduate levels. 

The department has four full Professors in Plant Pathology, Horticulture, Molecular Plant Breeding and Plant Breeding; about ten associate professors in Agronomy, Entomology, Conservation Biology, Horticulture, Plant Pathology, Floriculture and landscape  and Molecular Plant Breeding; more than 15 Assistant Professors in various field and there are also over 11 lecturers. Thirteen faculty members are pursuing PhD and 8 MSc studies in various disciplines both in the country and abroad. Moreover, the department has also five technical staffs and more than 20 supportive staffs.


The goal of the department is to produce middle and high level skilled horticulturists and plant scientists who will be able to conduct demand driven research and development activities in the area of horticulture and plant sciences and disseminating research results through well coordinated extension program.

 Mission and vision

The mission and vission of the department of Horticulture and Plant Sciences is to develop and implement horticultural and plant science education and research programmes that lead to the improvement and facilitation of cost-effective and profitable production and utilization of horticultural and crops commodities and services in a concerted effort to conserve natural resources while protecting and enhancing the environment. 

 Admission criteria 

The eligibility criteria for admission to B.Sc is in compliance  with the admission requirement set for  Ethiopian higher education institutions upon successful completion of two years preparatory education in natural science and pass the entrance examination prepared by the Ethiopian ministry of education (MoE). Placement of students to the program abides to the MoE affirmative regulation. Others like re-admission and advance standing shall be treated according to the academic rules and regulations of the universities. Students who graduated with diploma in the field of Horticulture, Plant sciences, General Agriculture and other related fields from recognized institutions can also apply to pursue their studies in regular, summer and extension programs based on the university`s legislations.

 Service offered

  • Teaching
  • Research
  • community services and consultancy

External Links

  • Community: The community in Southwest Ethiopia
  • Research partners: Wageningen University; Ghent University, Belgium; Cornell University, USA; Hebrew University of Jerusalem; University of Georgia, USA; University of Queensland, Australia; Kangwon National University, Korea; Ghent University. 
  • Governmental organizations: Ethiopian Institute of Agricultural Research; Regional Research Institutes; Public Universities; The federal and regional agriculture offices.
  • Non-governmental Organizations: The Ethiopian Horticulture Producer and Exporters Association (EHPEA); SNV